The Crew 2

The Crew 2 Closed Beta Debuts May 31st on All Platforms

Article By 
Alan Walsh
May 16, 2018
The Crew 2

The Crew 2 Closed Beta Debuts May 31st on All Platforms

Article By 
Alan Walsh
May 16, 2018

Ubisoft has announced the Closed Beta for The Crew 2 will debut on Thursday, May 31st to selected participants who signed-up for it on Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC. It will be available through the weekend until Sunday, June 3rd. Whilst Ubisoft has said beta access will be “limited,” all players invited to participate in the Closed Beta will be able to invite up to three friends to join them.

The Closed Beta will include all the content available within the first level of the progression system – Rookie. This includes four different race discipline types, including Street Race, Rally Raid, Powerboat, and Aerobatics. Not only will the entire map be open for players to explore – that’s the entirety of the United States of America, but participants in the Closed Beta will also have access to the full line-up of vehicles available in The Crew 2 to unlock and free drive. That includes all the cars, boats and planes, as well as the bikes, trucks and race machines.

In addition, those in the Closed Beta will also have access to “an exclusive mission,” which is officially dubbed the ‘Motor Trend Classic Challenge.’ It will take players through New York City in a street race event. Closed Beta participants will also unlock an exclusive in-game leather jacket via Ubisoft Club for use on their avatar in the final game. For more details on both vehicle and character customization, be sure to hit up our in-depth preview for The Crew 2, which takes a deep look at both of those aspects.

Participants will be able to pre-download the Closed Beta on Tuesday, May 29th from 9am BST (4am EDT, 1am PDT). The servers will be turned on from Thursday, May 31st from 9am BST (4am EDT, 1am PDT) and will be enabled until June 4th at the same time. Ahead of the beta, the development team at Ivory Tower will host an official livestream on Wednesday, May 30th from 5pm BST (12pm EDT, 9am PDT). This stream will showcase the game in-action, and it’ll also feature some beta key giveaways, too.

Those selected to participate in The Crew 2’s Closed Beta will receive an invitation from May 29th on the email address they used to register for their Ubisoft account. Make sure to keep an eye on your spam-folder in case it lands in there. The email will include instructions to confirm your participation and platform, and your beta access key will be available here. Those who have already received what Ubisoft refers to as a “guaranteed access code” can redeem it in the days leading up to the Closed Beta here.

Finally, The Crew 2’s Closed Beta will have no NDA. This means players will be able to stream, screenshot, record and share to their heart’s content. In addition, these videos, livestreams and photographs should look beautiful when captured from the Xbox One X and PS4 Pro as the enhancements for both systems will be fully-enabled during the Closed Beta! The Crew 2 has already been confirmed to run in 4K resolution on these consoles, so it should look stunning.

 

In addition to the beta news and previews, Ubisoft also released a brand-new ‘Coast to Coast’ trailer for The Crew 2. This one introduces players to the various motorsport families and disciplines found in the game. It also highlights the different headlining locations in The Crew 2, including Los Angeles, New York City, and the Pacific Highways, as well as Pikes Peak in Colorado Springs and Monument Valley in Arizona. Various test tracks are also showcased, with a glimpse of the 2017 Red Bull RB13 Formula 1 race car at one of these circuits, but you’ll be able to enjoy The Crew 2 and explore its world in the vehicles you enjoy the most – cars, trucks, motorcycles, boats and planes. The choice is all yours.

The Crew 2 will be available on June 29th, 2018, but for those eager to play it before then, the Closed Beta will be your best bet to explore the fully-redesigned USA by land, sea and air ahead of the game’s official release date next month. Be sure to sign-up for the Closed Beta today, and for all the details you need on the upcoming open-world racing game, including our hands-on impressions, be sure to check out our in-depth preview story. In addition, we also have the first official race event captured from the Xbox One X Enhanced version of The Crew 2.

Alan Walsh

Alan is the co-founder and co-owner of FullThrottle Media. As someone who enjoys spending all his free time playing video games, he delivers the latest in news stories, reviews, and feature articles to the website, as well as videos on his YouTube channel and livestreams over on Mixer.