Sail The High Seas In The Sea of Thieves Closed Beta

Article By 
Alan Walsh
January 9, 2018

Sail The High Seas In The Sea of Thieves Closed Beta

Article By 
Alan Walsh
January 9, 2018

Sea of Thieves has been a long time coming. Since its first official unveil at E3 2015 to the recent conclusion of its closed Technical Alpha, the development team at Rare has been extremely busy. However, with launch approaching quickly on March 20th, the team are giving players their first proper glimpse at the shared open-world experience of Sea of Thieves with the Closed Beta from January 24th, 2018.

The Sea of Thieves Closed Beta will run from 12pm GMT (4am PST, 7am EST) on Wednesday, January 24th to 8am GMT (12am PST, 3am EST) on Monday, January 29th. This gives pirates a full five days of sailing, shanties and shenanigans.

Rare says it has crafted “a bespoke experience” for Closed Beta players that offers both a taste of pirate life and the overall shared experience in Sea of Thieves. This isn’t a test for the full game itself, as Rare says it wants to keep “a good selection of things up our sleeves for players to discover at launch.”

In addition, the Sea of Thieves Closed Beta will be accessible to anyone who joined the game’s official Insider Program before December 1st, 2017, as well as anyone who pre-orders the game. If you’ve already pre-ordered Sea of Thieves and want to find out how to download the Closed Beta client, you can do so on the official website.

Rare also announced that the Closed Beta will not be covered by an NDA, allowing players to freely share content to their hearts’ content. From livestreams and videos to clips and screenshots, pirates can share as much of the experience they desire with their friends and the wider online community. Rare also teased that it will share some its favourite community-made content on the official social channels.

Sea of Thieves will officially sail the high seas from March 20th, 2018 on Xbox One and Windows 10 PC. The Closed Beta will be accessible on both platforms. Rare’s shared pirate adventure experience also made it into our feature story on our most anticipated games launching this year.

Alan Walsh

Alan is the co-founder and co-owner of FullThrottle Media. As someone who enjoys spending all his free time playing video games, he delivers the latest in news stories, reviews, and feature articles to the website, as well as videos on his YouTube channel and livestreams over on Mixer.